C. Ronaldo wins FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award

For the fourth time in history, Cristiano Ronaldo has been named FIFA Men’s Player of the Year (2016). He triumphed over Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to yet another individual trophy from a historical year.

No other footballer deserved the award better than Ronaldo.

cristiano ronaldo - cropped

Image shows Cristiano Ronaldo at the FIFA Awards ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland.

Delighted to win The Best FIFA award. Wouldn’t be possible without my teammates, coaches and you who support me every day. Thanks everyone! pic.twitter.com/1E1VkaYbTu

— Cristiano Ronaldo (@Cristiano) January 9, 2017

According to a report from SportingNews, CR7 spoke with El Partidazo at the event, saying the year 2016 was his best ever. He also bragged about being “The Best Player” who, without doubts, deserves the best prize.

“It was an unforgettable year at a collective and individual level,” Ronaldo told the news outlet.

“I think it’s almost impossible to have a better year than this one.

“This is the best moment since I came to Madrid and also with the Portugal national team, which I can’t forget. I’m in the best moment of my career and I’m very happy.

“There were a lot of doubts and campaigns against me, inside and outside football, too. They wanted to hit me from all sides.

“The truth is that The Best prize was for the best, which is me. So I’m very happy.

“For the season I’ve had with both Madrid and the national team, for the trophies and the standards, I deserved to win. It’s that simple.”

Notable among other award winners is the U.S. women’s national team star Carli Lloyd, who won the FIFA Women’s Player of the Year for a second time.

The USWNT and Houston Dash star expressed gratitude to her teammates, not forgetting the U.S. Soccer coach and its president Sunil Gulati.

“I wouldn’t be standing up here without them,” Lloyd said.

“I’m very honored to win this award again.”

Image: Cristiano Ronaldo and Carli Lloyd.

Silvia Neid, the former German women’s national team manager also received the FIFA Women’s Coach Of The Year award.

Ronaldo, 31, made his mark as one of the best players to ever grace the football arena after winning a Champions League trophy (2015/2016) and UEFA Super Cup with Real Madrid last year. He also won the Euro 2016 crown with his countrymen.

The former Manchester United winger couldn’t suppress his excitement during FIFA’s newly-established annual awards ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland.

“Wow, wow, wow,” the joyful Real Madrid player said after he was announced winner.

Ronaldo, who turns 32 on 5 February, kissed “The Best” trophy after it was presented by FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

“2016 was the best year of my career,” the Portugal international footballer stated in his speech, adding: “Of course, I wish that they (Barcelona players) had been here tonight like in the other years.”

Barca players missed the FIFA event due to preparations for their Wednesday match, and Ronaldo says: “We have to respect the decision.”

Votes for the awards were received from national team captains, football coaches, fans and a group of selected media representatives.

Ronaldo scored a total 34.54 points, Lionel Messi (26.42 points) and Antoine Griezmann (7.53 points).

Leicester City’s coach Claudio Ranieri was honored with a FIFA Men’s Coach of the Year award.

One thought on “C. Ronaldo wins FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award