FIFA to introduce a new Global Awards Event tagged “The Best” after splitting from Ballon d’Or

FIFA has released a public statement that they are taking a few steps away from the Ballon d’Or after the football association parted ways with France Football. The global football federation says its latest launch of “The Best” awards will bear as much weight as the former – more like a rival.

Previously, Magazine France Football and world football’s governing body [FIFA] had issued out trophies which include the prestigeous FIFA Ballon d’Or every January, as partners.

The individual award goes to a selected “World’s Best Player” whose performance is voted best from the previous calendar year.

With the introduction of “The Best Awards”, FIFA will be offering two different trophies to crown the best player or players in football, just like they did a few years ago.

Latest reports confirm the Ballon d’Or will be handed out in December while FIFA’s ‘The Best’ gala will hold in January. The announcment was made on Monday.

“This event will be about football and its most passionate participants – players, coaches and fans,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

“It is a new event with new approaches to celebrating the game we all love.”

Image: FIFA President Gianni Infantino

The official statement from FIFA went ahead to explain modalities on how the the winners will be selected for awards.

It reads: “The winners will be chosen via a process in which 50% of the result is based on the choices of captains and head coaches of all of the world’s national teams.

“The other 50% will be split between the result of an online public ballot and the submissions from a selected group of more than 200 media representatives from around the world.”

As it is done with Ballon d’Or, the eligible voters for “The Best” are: national team captains and coaches, plus media. The event has been scheduled for January 9, reports confirm.

Lionel Messi has so far, won the Ballon d’Or  a record five times while Cristiano Ronaldo has grabbed it a third time.

FIFA said it will announce candidate lists for the player and coach awards this week, and announce three-member short lists on Dec. 2.

These are the FIFA Best Awards to be expected in January 2017: 

The Best Fifa Men’s Player 2016
The Best Fifa Women’s Player 2016
The Best Fifa Men’s Coach 2016
The Best Fifa Women’s Coach 2016
The Fifa Puskas Award 2016 (for goal of the year)
The Fifa Fair Play Award 2016
The Fifa Fan Award 2016
Fifa FifPro World11