Winner of Tory leadership contest to be announced on 5 September

united kingdom flag tied to a wooden bench
Photo by Artem Beliaikin on

British Attorney General Suella Braverman was on Thursday knocked out of the leadership race to become the next leader of the Conservative Party and prime minister of the UK.

The five candidates that now remain are former Chancellor Rishi Sunak, International Trade Minister Penny Mordaunt, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, head of the Foreign Affairs Select Committee Tom Tugendhat, and former Equalities Minister Kemi Badenoch.

These five will advance to the next round of voting on Monday.

Conservative lawmakers will continue to vote until just two candidates remain, at which point the vote will open up to party members.

The winner will lead the party and become the country’s next prime minister, with the final result to be announced on Sept. 5.

Current Prime Minister Boris Johnson announced that he would resign last Thursday, but said he would stay in his post until a successor was elected.